Contact Information

Staff

Matthew Anderson, PhD., RBP
Biosafety Officer
(402) 472-9554
manderson11@unl.edu

T.J. Bond
Hazardous Building Materials Specialist
(402) 472-2844
tbond2@unl.edu

Mark Clark
EHS Technical Support Associate
(402) 450-6079
mclark3@unl.edu

Lynn DeShon
Staff Secretary III
(402) 472-4925
sdeshon1@unl.edu

Zuleika Doremus
Specialist (Air Quality/SPCC/Tanks)
(402) 472-9552
zdoremus1@unl.edu

Farida Ebrahim
Safety Specialist
(402) 472-3784
febrahim2@unl.edu

Liza Garrett, CPESC
Environmental Specialist
(402) 472-2212
egarrett3@unl.edu

Bruce Haley
Geologist
(402) 472-5038
bhaley@nebraska.edu

Betsy Howe, MBA
Safety Specialist
(402) 472-5488
ehowe2@unl.edu

Nick Jenkins
EHS Technician
1 (402) 699-0900
njenkins3@unl.edu

Ignacio Jimenez
EHS Technician
(402) 413-8687
ijimenez2@unl.edu

Ryan Lemke
EHS Technician
(402) 440-5603
rlemke2@unl.edu 

Tony Lloyd, CHMM
Senior Environmental Specialist
(402) 472-4942
alloyd4@unl.edu

Baillie Luff 
EHS Technician
(402) 540-2975
bluff2@unl.edu

Tom Machacek
Assistant Radiation Safety Officer
(402) 472-8676
tmachacek1@unl.edu

Thomas McManus
EHS Technician
(760) 809-5461
tmcmanus2@unl.edu

Lisa Mensah
Safety Specialist
(402) 472-6513
lmensah2@unl.edu

Terry Miller
EHS Technical Support Associate
(402) 540-0220
tmiller8@unl.edu

Charles Murrieta, PhD.
Biosafety Specialist
(402) 472-4264
cmurrieta2@unl.edu

Dan Olsen

Senior Environmental Specialist
(402) 472-4928
dolsen2@unl.edu

Brenda Osthus
Director
(402) 472-4927
bosthus1@unl.edu

Yoko Smith, CHMM
Safety Specialist
(402) 472-6512
ysmith2@unl.edu

Sherri vonRentzell
Accounting Clerk III
(402) 472-0264
svonrentzell2@unl.edu

Joel Webb, CHP
Associate Director of EHS / Radiation Safety Officer
(402) 472-2157
jwebb2@unl.edu

Morgan Whisinnand
Radiation Safety Specialist
(402) 472-5773
mwhisinnand2@unl.edu

Who to Contact

Administration

Customer Satisfaction - Brenda Osthus
EHS Virtual Manual - Sherri vonRentzell
EHS Web Page - Sherri vonRentzell

Biosafety

Biosafety - Matthew Anderson
Bloodborne Pathogens - Matthew Anderson

Environmental Programs

Air Quality Regulations (outdoor) - Zuleika Doremus
Asbestos - Taylor Bond
Biohazard Waste Pickups - Tony Lloyd
Bulk Fuel Storage Operations - Zuleika Doremus
Chemical and Radiation Waste Pickups - Nick Jenkins, Ignacio Jimenez, Ryan Lemke, Baillie Luff, Tom McManus
De-watering - Liza Garrett, Dan Olsen
Environmental Investigations and Remedial Actions - Dan Olsen
Fluorescent Lamps, High Intensity Discharge Lamp, Lamp Ballast Pick-ups - Tony Lloyd
IATA/DOT Shipments - Tony Lloyd
Incinerator Operations - Zuleika Doremus
Lead - Taylor Bond
Livestock Waste - Liza Garrett, Dan Olsen
PCBs - Taylor Bond
Potentially Hazardous Building Material Related Components - Taylor Bond
Request Hazardous Material Collection Tags - Lynn DeShon
Sewer Disposal - Tony Lloyd
Shipping Dangerous Goods - Tony Lloyd
SPCC/Oil Storage - Liza Garrett
Special Waste Permits - Tony Lloyd
Spills/Releases - Tony Lloyd, Dan Olsen
Storm Water Management - Liza Garrett, Dan Olsen
Waste Management Questions - Tony Lloyd

Occupational Health and Safety

Agricultural Safety - Lisa Mensah
Asbestos - Lisa Mensah
Chemical Safety - Matthew Anderson
Confined Spaces - Lisa Mensah
Construction Safety - Lisa Mensah
Cranes, Lifts - Lisa Mensah
Dining/Custodial Safety - Yoko Smith, Betsy Howe
Electrical Safety - Lisa Mensah
Excavations - Lisa Mensah
Fall Protection - Lisa Mensah
Fire Safety - Lisa Mensah
General Safety/IIPP - Betsy Howe
Hearing Conservation - Yoko Smith
Hot Work - Lisa Mensah
Indoor Air Quality - Lisa Mensah
Industrial Hygiene - Yoko Smith
Laboratory Safety - Matthew Anderson
Lead - Lisa Mensah
Lockout/Tagout - Lisa Mensah
Mobile Aerial Lifts - Lisa Mensah
Occupational Injury/Illness Investigations - Yoko Smith, Betsy Howe
Personal Protective Equipment - Yoko Smith
Powered Industrial Trucks - Lisa Mensah
Respiratory Protection - Yoko Smith
Safety Committee Activities - Betsy Howe
Safety Training and Records - Betsy Howe, Sherri vonRentzell
Shop/Maintenance Safety - Lisa Mensah
Web-based Training - Betsy Howe, Sherri vonRentzell

Radiation Safety

Committee Activities - Joel Webb
Dosimetry - Morgan Whisinnand
Gauges - Tom Machacek
Instrument Calibrations - Tom Machacek
Isotope Ordering, Receipt, Delivery - Joel Webb
License Application, Renewal, Termination - Joel Webb
Radiation Surveys - Nick Jenkins, Ignacio Jimenez, Ryan Lemke, Baillie Luff, Thomas McManus
Sealed Sources - Morgan Whisinnand
Training - Tom Machacek
Waste Management - Tony Lloyd
X-Ray Producing Devices - Morgan Whisinnand

Outside UNL

Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services (NDHHS)
Licensing & Regulatory Affairs
(402) 471-2115
Website

Nebraska Public Water Supply Program
Doug Woodbeck, Program Manager
(402) 471-0521
doug.woodbeck@dhhs.ne.gov
Website

Nebraska Safety Council
Driving Safety
(402) 483-2511
Website

Who to Contact

Water Operator's License - NDHHS



Within UNL (But Outside EHS)

Jeff Culbertson
Landscape Services
(402) 472-9188
jeff.culbertson@unl.edu

Rich Firebaugh
Building Codes
(402) 472-3652
richard.firebaugh@unl.edu

Vicki Highstreet
Campus Recreation
(402) 472-4771
vhighstreet1@unl.edu

Bob Meduna
Southeast Research & Extension Center
(402) 624-8037
bob.meduna@unl.edu

SEREC Website

Roger Hoy
Tractor Test Laboratory
(402) 472-2442

Nebraska LTAP
(402) 472-5748
Website

Clyde Ogg
Agronomy & Horticulture
(402) 472-1632
cogg1@unl.edu

 

Jan Steinkamp
University Health Center
(402) 472-7477
jsteinkamp1@unl.edu

Jody Wood / Jill Flagel
Office of Institutional Equity and Compliance (Ergonomics / Accommodation)
(402) 472-0085 / (402) 472-2322
jwood2@unl.edu
jill.flagel@unl.edu

UNL Facilities Service Desk
Building Systems Maintenance
(402) 472-1550

UNL Human Resources
CDL Drug Testing
(402) 472-3101

UNL Pesticide Education Office
(402) 472-1632
Toll-free: (800) 627-7216
Website

Witt Widhalm
Building Systems Maintenance
(402) 472-4850
witt.widhalm@unl.edu

Who to Contact

AED Selection/Questions - Jan Steinkamp
ATV Training - Bob Meduna
Chainsaw Operation/Tree Climbing/Felling Safety - Jeff Culbertson
Crane & Hoist Inspections - Greg Turner
Ergonomic & Employee Accommodation - Jody Wood & Jill Flagel
Fire Extinguisher Inspections/Service - Witt Widhalm
First Aid/CPR Training - Jan Steinkamp, Vicki Highstreet
Life & Fire Safety Issues - Rich Firebaugh
Pesticide Application & Licensing - UNL Pesticide Education Office
Snow Plows/Dump Trucks/Road Graders On Public Roads- Nebraska LTAP
Tractor Safety - Roger Hoy